Airhead

Keep smiling…….

The Sound of Silence (Baby Edit)

on October 19, 2012

(to the original tune, politely ignoring any scanning issues…….)

Hello darkness, my old friend,

The baby’s woken me again,

Disturbed me when I was softly breathing,

He screams and wails because he is teething,

The ear piercing, blinding soundtrack to his pain

Still remains,

It’s been three hours…………since silence

 

Oh restless nights, there’ve been a few,

Distraught I don’t know what to do,

I try to coo and shush and rock and sing,

But an end to this they’ve yet to bring,

The Calpol, gel and powders don’t touch the sides,

Relief denied,

And so we pray…………for silence

 

As your mother it kills me,

So very heartbreaking to see,

I want to help you but I don’t know how,

I’d give my eyeballs to swap places now,

I’d chop arms and legs off, and do it all again,

To stop your pain,

Just for one night…………of silence

 

I was so smug when you were new,

For every night you would sleep through,

Eight blissful months of false security,

Have come to royally bite me,

And the whispered warnings, “just wait til those teeth grow”,

Well, now I know!

I mourn the nights……….of silence

 

Oh god I feel barely alive,

So hideously sleep deprived,

The days are headaches and I dread the nights,

While you’re busy growing pearly whites,

I surrender, Nature, I’ve fallen to my knees

To beg you please,

Restore the sound……….of silence.

 

 

I think you’ll all agree, I put the funk into Simon and Garfunkel.

The Essential Simon and Garfunkel

The Essential Simon and Garfunkel (Photo credit: Wikipedia)


Leave a comment